Art Collecting

The Bruce Museum in Greenwich looks back as it prepares for its opening expansion in 2023 | Pro Club Bd

GREENWICH — From a new arts curator to permanent science galleries, senior officials at the Bruce Museum outlined the progress of its major expansion project and said it had raised more than 90 percent of the funding for its massive modernization.

Since the “topping out” ceremony for the New Bruce project last June, the museum has just $5 million left toward its fundraising goal, according to Board Chairman James B. Lockhart III and Executive Director Robert Wolterstorff, who held a virtual annual meeting last month Zoom.

Last year, the Bruce Museum hired an art curator, Margarita Karasoulas, to oversee the opening of the new permanent art gallery space, as well as the inaugural Spring 2023 exhibition at the rotating art gallery, Lois Dodd: Natural Order.

In November, Science Curator Daniel Ksepka unveiled the new permanent science galleries “Natural Cycles Shape Our Land” and plans “Penguins!” as the first exhibition in the grand gallery dedicated to rotating science shows.

Wolterstorff reported on the purchase of the two large estate reports totaling more than 70 important paintings, drawings and sculptures. An anonymous Greenwich couple pledged as a legacy a collection of sculpture, paintings, drawings, prints and photographs spanning a century of European and American art. The donation includes works by Winslow Homer, Edward Hopper, Alberto Giacometti, Henry Moore and Andrew Wyeth, among others. And longtime supporter William L. Richter, a resident of Greenwich, donated two artworks on paper by Pablo Picasso and Henri Matisse.

Other items donated to the collection include a portfolio of nine engravings by Stanley William Hayter; a group of 30 original Art Moderne posters; 60 works, including most of the original paintings for the annual Federal Duck Stamp program; a large and important body of work by Inuit artists; and an exceptional Early Jurassic dinosaur track collected here in Connecticut.

On other matters, the Board of Trustees elected James B. Lockhart III and William Deutsch as co-chairs. They are joined on the Executive Committee: Vice-Chairmen Simone McEntire and Heidi Brake Smith; Treasurer Patricia W. Chadwick; Assistant Treasurer Rebecca A. Gillan; secretary Ellen A. Flanagan; and Members-at-Large Robert H. Lawrence Jr., Susan E. Lynch and Charles M. Royce. Lynch and Royce were also elected honorary co-chairs of the board.

Five new curators also joined the board. They are:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.