How to maximize your Facebook profile privacy settings | article | Pro Club Bd

Editor’s Note: This article was originally published in November 2015 by Priscilla Rey.

_____________

GRAFENWÖEHR, Germany — Facebook remains by far the most popular social media site in a Pew Research Center survey. As a military member and for family members of military members, paying attention to operational security (OPSEC) is more important than ever.

Sharing information on your Facebook timeline may seem harmless, but it can be dangerous for loved ones and comrades.

Never accept a friend request from someone you don’t know, even if they know a friend of yours. Do not share information that you do not wish to make public. Someone might target you for a job at the Department of Defense, so be careful when listing your job, military organization, education, and contact information. If you provide too much information on your profile, you may be exposed to people who want to steal your identity or confidential business information.

Understanding what you can and cannot post on Facebook goes a long way in protecting yourself online, but you can do even more by adjusting your privacy settings.

There are many ways to protect your privacy on Facebook, and many people don’t realize that most information is available to everyone. We’ve done some research on how to set your settings to the highest level of security.

Here you set the highest security settings for your Facebook profile.

Choose who views your Facebook posts

1. Sign in to Facebook and go to Settings, privacy.

2. Topics: Who can see my stuff? Who can contact me? who can look for me

3. Choose Just me or Just friends to Maximize security on your site. This will prevent others from seeing your posts.

4. Under who can look for me Facebook asks, “Would you like other search engines to link to your timeline?” Don’t let other search engines link to your timeline.

Maximize your timeline privacy, prevent tagging

1. When you post pictures to your timeline, you can change who can see, comment on, or add things. You can also control who can post on your timeline.

2. Sign in to Facebook and go to Settings, Timeline and tagging.

3. Who can add stuff to my timeline? Who can see things on my timeline? How can I manage tags people add?

4. The best thing you can do is make this border visible Only you or Friends only. Not have friends of freinds Post or comment on your pictures. Keep this as private as possible.

5. If you are “tagged” in a post, it means someone has linked to your profile. You can turn on tag verification to review tags that friends add to your content before it appears on Facebook. In which How do I manage tags and tagging suggestions that people add? section, click Edit and change the settings to Enabled.

Your profile picture

1. A recent Facebook update allows you to resize your profile picture. It also allows you to make the image private and non-clickable.

2. Resize the image to 180×180 pixels using Photoshop, Microsoft Paint or other photo editing software. Save this and use it as your profile picture on Facebook.

3. Once uploaded, click and select your profile picture To edit.

4. Click on the Publicity drop down menu and select Just me.

geotagging

1. Geotagging is the process of adding a geographic identifier to photos, videos, websites, and SMS messages. This is equivalent to adding a 10-digit grid coordinate to anything published on the web. You can prevent Facebook from sharing your location.

2. Geotagging is usually done automatically on your tablet or mobile phone. When you first installed Facebook on your tablet or mobile phone, it probably asked permission to use your phone’s location services so you could “check in” to different places and tag photos with location information. Revoke this permission in the settings area of ​​your phone’s location services.

3. There are also apps to remove your geolocation. Koredoko, deGeo (iPhone) or Photo Privacy Editor (Android) are just a few of them.

4. When posting to Facebook, you may see a light gray location description in the bottom left of the status box. Always check if the location is published. If yes, remove it. Just move your cursor or finger over the spot and click the X.

The Army Social Media Handbook has great information on safe networks and registering your unity site. It also gives you guidance on Army branding standards and provides Facebook reference guides. It is available at www.us.army.mil/suite/doc/43167236 (AKO login required) or www.slideshare.net/usarmysocialmedia (login blocked on government computers).

Always remember: think before you post. Take care.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.